What Editor Deborah Smith Wants

Genres handled by Deborah Smith:

General fiction, literary fiction, women's fiction , humor, southern fiction, cozy mysteries and any genre not covered by one of our other editors.

Deborah Smith would love to find books in the tradition of The Thorn Birds, The Girl With The Pearl Earring, The Help, the intricate historical novels of Lucia St. Claire Robson, the funny romps of Sex and The City, the glitter of Danielle Steel, and more.She wants women's fiction with strong themes of romance, mystery, suspense, magical realism,the paranormal and/or "other."She also loves elegant literary fiction that has a heart, and funny mystery novels. She loves inspiring non-fiction as exemplified by Leigh Brill's wonderful novel for Bell Bridge, A DOG NAMED SLUGGER.

Deborah is eager to find terrific contemporary novels about the lives, loves, dreams and families of Americans from a variety of ethnic and racial groups.

Deborah Smith would love to find general fiction, southern fiction and women's fiction (post WWII to present) with strong family dramas and/or genre elements such as romance and mystery. Her recent acquisitions include Barbara Samuel's THE SLEEPING NIGHT, a 1946 interracial romance set in Texas. Also see our bestselling women's fiction title,THE YEAR SHE FELL, by Alicia Rasley, and Deb's own top-selling women's fiction novel for Bell Bridge, THE CROSSROADS CAFÉ.

In romance, Deb buys both sweet and sexy stories; she is particularly looking for connected books and series; can be small-town, suburban or urban settings, and remember, we buy all settings, not just Southern. See Deborah Grace Staley's Angel Ridge books, Elizabeth Sinclair's Hawks Mountain books, also Lindi Peterson's HER BEST CATCH (sweet inspirational.) Recent acquisitions: Vicki King's CARLY'S RULE.

On the sexy side, we're open to seriously sensual stories, either drama or comedy. We've done well with sexy rom-com from authors Trish Jensen, Eve Gaddy and others. If you're looking to push the envelope in the romance genre, we're interested. Mild erotica is okay as long as there's a strong plot with emotional resonance. Deb is also interested in mash-ups, such as new takes on classic lit.

For the Bell Bridge cozy mystery list: Deb wants humor and inventive premises. If you have a series with a hook that hasn't been used before, that's a plus. See our Dixie Diva series, our Pampered Pets series, and the Blue Suede Memphis series.  Recent acquisitions: Lora Lee's JOYFUL NOISE series, about a Glee-like church choir and it's crime-solving choir director.

What Deb would love to find: a cozy set in the world of Civil War re-enactors.